Independent-Learning

“‘And what–if it isn’t an impertinent question–what do you believe?’

Magic carpet rides, rune magic, Ali Baba and visions of the Holy Mother, astral travel and the future in the dregs of a glass of red wine…

Buddha. Frodo’s journey into Mordor. The transubstantiation of the sacrament. Dorothy and Toto. The Easter Bunny. Space aliens. The Thing in the closet. The Resurrection and the Life and turn of a card… I’ve believed in them all at one time or another. Or pretended to. Or pretended not to.

And now? What do I believe right now? ‘I believe that being happy is the only important thing,’ I told him at last.

Happiness. Simple as a glass of chocolate or tortuous as the heart. Bitter. Sweet. Alive.”

—  Chocolat Joanne Harris 1999

Something that I have always been interested in is being happy. For my independent learning project I want to research how to be truly, selflessly, and unconditionally happy. Throughout this project I want to look into ways that people have found their own happiness and also how to teach happiness. I think it is important for children to know that there are many ways to be happy, and successfully happy, and I want to try to show them how to accomplish this. For me, my happiness comes from being with loved ones, yoga, being outside, and relaxing with a book or good movie. There are many other ways that I know I can become happy on a deeper level than what is just on the surface and I would like to figure out what they are.

7 thoughts on “Independent-Learning

  1. I think this sounds like a great project! People are happy doing so many different things and in so many different environments. Do you think you will end up with one precise answer on how to truly be happy? I can’t wait to see your end project towards the end of the semester!

    Like

  2. This is a very enlightening and beneficial independent project. I believe you will benefit greatly from participating in this activity. This is an area that we all want to be in, but always end up on a different course. Dedicating time to yourself and finding yourself are great ways to better you overall well-being. Good luck on your adventure!

    Like

  3. Very simple project, right? It may sound that way but I, and many others, know that it is not. The struggle for happiness is someone that everyone has to deal with, and I applaud you on taking this challenge head on. Best of wishes on your study of happiness, and I hope you find perspective that applies to your definition of happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

